How to Clear Your Computer History
From time to time, it is necessary to clear a computer's history. Privacy is certainly a concern for people today, particulalry with identity theft rising. There may be other reasons why you want the history cleared, such as increasing the performance of your computer. It is easily done, slightly differently for different browers.
Clearing history is a simple process, but one commonly overlooked by many computer users. Not clearing the computer history can lead to problems, such as identity fraud and even theft of intellectual property. It also helps the computer run faster, as the saved information clogs up the memory and slows it down. Although there are programs you can purchase to do the work, it is actually not a difficult process. It varies slightly, depending on the browser you are using, so the list below breaks down the process by browser.
Firefox 3.5 Browser:
- Open the Firefox browser and click "tools". Once the bar has dropped down, click on "clear recent history".
- A time range will pop up (today, etc.). Scroll down and select "everything" from the options list.
- A list of options will pop up. Make sure "browsing and download history" is checked, as well as any other options you want to delete. Once you click "clear now," that information is wiped from your computer memory.
Chrome 4.1 Browser:
- Open the Google Chrome browser and click on the wrench at the upper right side of the screen. Click "tools" on the drop-down menu, then click "clear browsing data" in the next drop-down menu (which usually appears to the side).
- Make sure "clear browsing data" is checked and check "from the beginning of time" to select the timeframe that you want the data cleared.
- Click on the "clear browsing data" button to delete the data.
Internet Explorer 8.0
- Open the Internet Explorer browser and click "safety" at the top. Pick "delete browsing history."
- Make sure that the "history" box is checked, as well as any others you want to delete. These can include cookies, data, and saved passwords.
- Once you have checked everything you want deleted, click on "delete" and it will remove the information from your computer.