How to Make Cool Picture in Photoshop
Photoshop is a great tool for modifyng your pictures to make them look professional. It is also great for adding effects to your photos to make them look cool. The program offers many techiques that allow completely change the look of your pictures. You can use the many different filters and techniques that come with it to make your photos more interesting.
Easy blur:
Softens photos
- Duplicate your layer
- Apply Gaussian Blur. (Filter>Blur>Guassian Blur)
- Set the opacity of the layer to about 50% and then adjust it to fit what you want the photo to look like.
Overlay/Blur:
Makes the light tones lighter, the dark tones darker and softens the picture.
- Duplicate your picture. Drag the layer to the "New" icon which is located in the layers palette. (Ctrl + J)
- Choose the gaussian blur. (Filter>Blur>Gaussian Blur) Make sure that you blur it enough to make the details disappear but the shapes keep the same form.
- Go into the layers palette and change the blending mode to "Overlay."
- Change the blending mode to "Vivid Light" for a more dramatic effect.
Backgroud filter:
This changes the backgroud of your photo.
- Open the picture and duplicate the layer.
- Use the lasso tool to select the main subject of the picture.
- Feather the main subject of the photo by going to Select>Feather or CTRL+ALT+D. You want a large feather so what you will input here depends on the photo. Start with 50 pixels.
- Go to Layer>New>Layer via Copy. This should make it so that the subject of your photo is on a new layer and the edges are faded.
- Select the layer copy that is below the subject layer and start trying out different filters. Brush strokes will work well.
- Tone down the effect of the filter by changing the opacity of the effect layer.
Neon Glow:
This adds drama, as well as color to your photo.
- Duplicate the layer.
- Choose Filter>Artistic>Neon Glow.
- Choose a color that will compliment your photo.
- Begin with a glow brightness of 18 and glow size of four and then change it to suit your photo.
- Change the blending mode to "Overlay" and cycle through these modes until you find the perfect one for your photo.