Previous Article

How to Make a Digital Art Portfolio

Next Article

How to Paint Acrylic Abstract Art

How to Make Digital Art in Gimp

Gimp is a freely distributed manipulation software program, which allows you to make moderate to drastic changes to your photos and sketches. This software also allows you to create digital art as it is considered image-authoring software. You could easily create your own digital art on Gimp using a simple sketch you created on paper. 

Things you'll need:



  • Computer

  • Sketch

  • Scanner

  • Gimp 



  1. Place your sketch into your scanner and close the lid. 

  2. Launch Gimp on your computer by clicking the start button. Select "All Programs" and then scroll up to select "Gimp."

  3. Select "Acquire" from the File Menu. Scroll over to the right to select "Scanner/Camera."

  4. Press and hold the CTRL key and then press "N." The New Image dialog box appears on your screen. Change the dots per inch setting to 300 dots per inch.

  5. Ensure that your image is displayed correctly. Click "Transform" in the Image Menu then scroll over to flip or rotate your image. 

  6. Select "Save As" under the File Menu. 

  7. Crop your image to eliminate the excess paper in your display. You want only the image itself displayed on the screen. 

  8. Create a duplicate layer of your sketch. Click the "Layers, Channels, Paths, Undo" Tab. Click the file name at the bottom of your screen and drag. Release the file name on into the "Layers, Channels, Paths, Undo" Tab palette. 

  9. Select "Mode" on the "Layers, Channels, Paths, Undo" Tab. 

  10. Click on the sketch layer name then select "Multiply" found in the provided drop box. 

  11. Click on the Gimp toolbox. Select a painting tool and color of your preference. 

  12. Begin painting your sketch to create digital art in Gimp. 

  13. Save your finished digital art by clicking "Save" in the File Menu.