Previous Article

Tattoo and Piercing Discrimination

Next Article

Tattoos and Piercing in the Workplace

Tattoo and Piercing Laws

Tattoos and piercings are growing in popularity. However, there are some laws that apply to those that are being pierced or tattooed. If you are an interested party or artist, you must be familiar with any applicable laws. The laws pertain to the licensing of artists and the age requirements of the party being tattooed or pierced.

Tattoo Laws


Minors:



  • Anyone under the age of 18 cannot receive a tattoo in most states without the parent or legal guardian's written permission.

  • Some states, like Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, North Dakota and Virginia, require the presence of the parent or legal guardian.

  • Some states say that no one under the age of 18 can receive a tattoo. These states are Alaska, California, Georgia, Maine, New Hampshire, and Wisconsin.

  • In Iowa and New York, the law states that no parental consent is allowed for minors to receive a tattoo.

  • In Tennessee, no one under 12 years old can receive a tattoo.

  • In Oklahoma, there are fines assessed to those that tattoo anyone under the age of 18.

  • In Maryland, the tattoo parlor must keep the parent's consent form for three years.

  • In Florida, the form giving consent to tattoo the minor must be notarized.

  • In Colorado, there are no minimum age requirements to receive a tattoo.


 


Licensing:



  • Most states require the tattoo artist to have a license from the health department.


 


 


Piercing Laws


Minors:



  • Most states you have to be 18 years old to get a piercing.

  • Some states require those under 18 years old to be accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.


 


Licensing:



  • Most states require the piercing artist to have a license from the health department.